Welcome!

Two years ago, we discovered my son Sam was allergic to milk. I wanted to keep nursing Sam, who was only three-months old, so I began to eliminate dairy from my diet. Unfortunately, I had no clue what to eat, and I was starving, cranky, and discouraged. After about four days,  I gave up.

These days there are many stories like mine, and many mothers like me – moms of fussy babies with known (or unknown) allergies, who want to keep nursing but have no clue what to eat. Luckily, not all of these stories end up like mine and Sam’s. I am fortunate to know many determined mommies who have eliminated allergen after allergen in their fight to have a healthy, happy, breastfed baby. Taking tips from these moms, in my second go-round I was able to eliminate milk, egg, and peanut while breastfeeding my second son for four months (with only a minimal amount of hunger and crankiness:) .

The recipes on this blog are my friends’, and this site is for them – and for all those other mommies out there who begin realize their breastfed baby is allergic to something, and wonder, what the heck am I going to eat?

Our goal is to create a starting place for these overwhelmed moms, and resources for all of us who want make yummy, filling, allergy-free REAL food for our families. The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxix Network identifies the most common allergens as dairy, egg, soy, peanut, tree nut, shellfish, fish, wheat, and soy. A large amount of the recipes will be free of all of these allergens. Many moms also eliminate corn as well. Hope you enjoy and we welcome your ideas! Here’s to happy cooking, happy eating, and happy babies!!

Leave a Reply

